The Eddys 2023 to honor eight movie icons

The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors marks another milestone as it gears up for the sixth edition of The Eddys or Entertainment Editors’ Choice, happening on 22 October at the EVM Convention Center in Quezon City.

The highlight of this film event, directed by Eric Quizon, is the recognition of eight industry pillars who have made a profound impact on the entertainment world through their exceptional bodies of work.

This year’s Movie Icon awardees include Aga Muhlach, Richard Gomez, Gabby Concepcion, Niño Muhlach, Snooky Serna, Jaclyn Jose, Barbara Perez and Nova Villa.

In addition, the Isah V. Red Award will be presented to six individuals who have offered inspiration and assistance to fellow Filipinos. Awardees include King’s Herbal, Lamoiyan Corporation, Herbert Bautista, Rosa Rosal, Coco Martin and Piolo Pascual.

The Joe Quirino Award will recognize Aster Amoyo, a veteran entertainment columnist, former TV host and content creator, for her invaluable contributions.

Renowned writer Ed de Leon will be honored with the Manny Pichel Award for his exceptional work in the field.

Viva Films will be named Producer of the Year, while MavX Productions will be recognized as the Rising Producer of the Year.

The grand movie affair, organized by Airtime Marketing Philippines, will have a delayed telecast on NET25, thanks to its president Caesar Vallejos, on 28 October.

This annual event, organized by the association of entertainment editors in the Philippines, aims to recognize and celebrate the best in Philippine Cinema. SPEEd will present a total of 14 acting and technical awards, selected from nominated films released in 2022.

SPEEd, composed of current and former entertainment editors from leading newspapers and online sites, is led by its president, Eugene Asis of People’s Journal.