Nation-builders cited  for sustainability efforts

For their contributions to nation-building and their love for the country, a new batch of extraordinary Filipinos was recognized in the recently concluded Nation Builders and Mosliv Awards last 30 June at the Okada Manila Grand Ballroom.

Leaders from both the government and private sectors, businesses, youth groups, philanthropists and sustainability leaders, who have pitched in to nation-building through their programs, advocacies and projects, were praised by the country’s leading Sustainability Awards Festival as it steers towards sustainable and inclusive progress in line with the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals.

“The Nation Builders and Mosliv Awards celebrates the people and groups who accomplish great things in the name of sustainability. And as we recognize what they have done, this is also a reminder that we are all stewards of the planet and it is our responsibility to ensure that we leave it in better condition than we found it,” said Nation Builders and Mosliv Awards president and chief executive officer Kenneth Rocete.

Vice President and Education Secretary Sara Duterte echoed NBMA’s initiatives in working together as one for the future not only of the nation, but the planet as a whole.

“I urge the Most Sustainable and Liveable Communities to actively innovate and develop networking and communication platforms to enhance the effectiveness of our entrepreneurs, organization leaders and government officials. We need nation builders to respond to the global trend of sustainability and the urgent need for climate action and compassing climate change mitigation and adaptation measures, land use planning, reducing carbon emissions and disaster risk reduction and response. Let us collaborate to build sustainable and climate-resilient communities and cities across the Philippines and around the world,”  VP Duterte said in a statement.


Guest of honors

Senators Francis Tolentino and Win Gatchalian graced the event as guest of honors while Public Attorneys Office chief Dr. Persida Acosta, Department of Interior and Local Government Undersecretary Serafin P. Baretto Jr. and MMDA Task Force Special Operations chief Edison Nebrija as guest speakers.

Philippine National Police Chief PGen. Benjamin Acorda Jr., together with Dr. Acosta and Nebrija,  headlined this year’s roster of awardees as winners of “Public Servants of the Year – Excellence in Government” award.

For elected officials, Rep. Michael Romero of 1-PACMAN Party-List, Rep. Jolo Revilla of 1st District of Cavite, Rep. Ernix Dionisio of Manila 1st District, Deputy Majority Leader Rep. Wilter Palma of Zamboanga Sibugay 1st District, Deputy Majority Leader Rep. Jam Baronda of Iloilo City Lone District, Rep. Rida Robes of City of San Jose Del Monte Lone District, Rep. Maan Teodoro of Marikina City 1st District and Rep. Shernee Tan Tambut of Kusug Tausug Party List topbilled the “Awarded Congressmen and Congresswomen of the Year.”

Meanwhile, governors of Davao del Norte and Capiz Edwin Jubahib and Fredenil Castro, respectively, also received recognition while city and municipal Mayors Arturo Robes (San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan), Michael Marcos Keon (Laoag City), Marjorie Perales (Toledo City), John Dalipe (Zamboanga City), and Agatha Cruz (Guiguinto, Bulacan), likewise took home awards for their competence and leadership.

Davao Del Norte is this year’s “Most Sustainable and Liveable Province in the Philippines” as the cities of Tayabas, Kidapawan, Toledo and Calapan were recognized as “Certified Most Sustainable and Liveable Cities in the Philippines.”

Miss World Philippines Organization was recognized as “Certified Most Sustainable and Liveable Organization” as IAM Worldwide was recognized as “Certified Most Sustainable and Liveable Company in the Philippines.”

Also part of the gathering was the launching and presentation of the Nation Builders and Mosliv Awards Volume IV publication which features this year’s awardees and their accomplishments and programs towards nation-building and sustainable and inclusive development.

Visit or