Asian Academy Creative Awards 2023 hails Heaven Peralejo, Arjo Atayde as national winners

The Asian Academy Creative Awards 2023 continues to recognize Filipino talent, this year hailing as national winners Arjo Atayde for Best Actor in a Leading Role for the crime-thriller series Cattleya Killer, which also won Best Cinematography and Best Drama Series; and Heaven Peralejo for Best Actress in a Leading Role for the suspense-thriller Nanahimik ang Gabi, one of the eight official entries to the 2022 Metro Manila Film Festival and also a Best Picture and Best Screenplay winner.

ARJO Atayde took home the Best Actor in a Leading Role for ‘Cattleya Killer.’ | PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF IG/ARJO ATAYDE

Last year, it was Jodi Sta. Maria who carried the flag of Philippine entertainment high at the Asia-wide gala night when she won best actress for A Broken Marriage Vow.

Peralejo said her win was her “most unexpected victory yet” in an Instagram post on 28 September: “Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine this to be happening! I am truly so honored to have won the Country Winner for Best Actress in Nanahimik Ang Gabi and being nominated as the Philippine representative for the Asian Academy Awards.”

The national winners are set to attend the grand awards and the gala awards ceremony in Singapore on 7 December.

Below is the list of national winners for the Asian Academy Creative Awards 2023:


Best Actress in a Leading Role: Heaven Peralejo (Nanahimik ang Gabi)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Sue Ramirez (K Love)

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Arjo Atayde (Cattleya Killer)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Mon Confiado (Nanahimik ang Gabi)

Best Comedy Actress: Isabelle Daza (K Love)

Best Screenplay: Nanahimik ang Gabi

Best Comedy Program: K-Love

Best Promo or Trailer: Dirty Linen

Best Direction (Fiction): Dirty Linen

Best Original Production by a Streamer/OTT: Drag You and Me

Best Entertainment Host: Manila Luzon (Drag Den Philippines)

Best Documentary (one-off): TAAS: Anak

Best Single News Report: “Dapat Alam Mo! Itaewon Crowd Crush”

Best Infotainment: KMJS: Titikman

Best Anthology: Tadhana

Best Docu-Series:24 Oras (Climate Change)”

Best Current Affairs:24 Oras (TS Egay Coverage)”

Best Theme Song: Maria Clara at Ibarra

Best VFX: Voltes V

Best Animated Program: Voltes V

Best Non-Scripted Entertainment: Drag Den Philippines

Best Factual Presenter: Rico Hizon UxS

Best Short Form Content: “Siargao Day and Night”

Best Lifestyle Program: Public Eye

Best Branded Program: A Night of Wonder