Filipino creative industry heralds a new era

WINNERS of the Young Creatives Challenge pose with Senator Imee Marcos (fourth from left). | PHOTOGRAPH BY JIA BOTE FOR THE DAILY TRIBUNE

The future is colorful and bright for young Filipino creatives.

Through Department of Trade Industry and the support of Senator Imee Marcos, Young Creatives Challenge became a festive showcase and grand recognition of Filipino creativity across various categories including songwriting, screenwriting, playwriting, animation, graphic novels, game development and content creation.

With over 400 entries, top 10 finalists of each category were recognized and honored for their exceptional talent on 21 March at the Samsung Hall in SM Aura.

Sa mga hindi po nakakaalam, ang programa pong ito ay patuloy lamang ng aking pagsuporta sa ating malikhaing Pilipino (For those who are unaware, this program is just a continuation of my support for our creative Filipinos),” said Senator Marcos.

“In the face of many challenges and obstacles, you have indeed persisted, honed your skills and unleashed your creativity in the most remarkable ways,” the Senator said as she expressed her excitement towards Filipino creatives. “You are the future of the creative Philippines and the world eagerly awaits the brilliance that you will undoubtedly shine upon them.”

DTI undersecretary Rafaelita Aldaba also expressed her heartfelt gratitude towards all Filipino talents who joined, as well as mentors, organizers and supporters who have contributed to the success of the creative program.

“As we embark on this journey of artistic exploration and discovery, let us embrace the diversity of ideas and perspectives that will undoubtedly inspire, educate and empower us all,” Aldaba said. “May this event be a platform for fostering collaboration, nurturing talent and igniting change in our communities and beyond.”

The nationwide creative competition, which was launched in September 2023, brought together Filipino creatives all over the country to demonstrate their creativity through different mediums and domains.

The program is aligned with the Philippine Creatives Industry Development Act (RA 11904) which was written by Senator Marcos, the first legislation that recognizes creative industries in various sectors.

A new round will be launched in the future as an ongoing mission to empower young creatives and amplify their voices through creative endeavor.

Here are the top finalists and grand prize winners of the Young Creatives Challenge:


Grand Prize Winner: “Lambing” by Rocky

•“Dalawang Guhit” by Burn Piamonte

• “Bagasbas” by Likha

• “Filipina” by Cody Lalo

• “Taksi (Taken na Parang Single)” by Yalab

• “Sayawa ang Atong Kultura” by Halamana

• “Armas by” Marvi

• “Panginoon” by We Prefer Chinitas (WPC)

• “Mata, Tawa” by Frisbie, Ganda Pilipinas by Rijj


Grand Prize Winner (Full-Length): Bugkos: End of Childhood by Breech Asher Harani

Hail Winston! By Gio Gonzalves

Lalaki, Lalake by Calvin A. Ponteblanca

Binondo 1896: A Revolutionary Love by Norman Boquire

Maskota: Adde ta Kafugakkan by Jerome Dulin

Grand Prize Winner (Short Film): Fishing the Moon Out of Water by John Peter Chua

Angela and Her Dying Lola by Mark Terence Molave

Una’t Huli by Lampara Productions

Ang Dalaw by Abo’t Alak

For Sale by Eliana Manzano


Grand Prize Winner: Ang Pagbuo ng Baliana by Tumatarok Theater Company

Siopao by Angel Salvador Chiuteña

In-MATE by Aldrich Cancino

Tres Marias en Siquijor by Jazzy Lyle S. Samson

Tipa, Pipa, Tipa by Myra Sanchez Samson

Ex-tiquette by Patricia Blances

Aurelia Arela by Leuvri and Employee of the Month by Ant Colita

The Writings on the Wall by Cervaunt

Ang Reta-retaso ng Sintu-sintong Sangkatauhan by Giulliene Sanchez

Graphic Novel Creation:

Grand Prize Winner: The Girl and The Tamaraw by AJRAVII

Wari Wari by Nuno

Katag by Rico Magallona

Dihilmon by Obura

Eastward Bound: Renascence by Edoy

Panteon: Silakbo by Bettina Mari Jiongco

Angel Nurse by Sasch Beltran

Coral Beach Club by daffonahron

Of Fleeting Lights and Distant Butterflies by artofjhndvpt


Grand Prize Winner: Ang Kampanilya by Mee Production

Drop of Love by Randolph Go

Free by Empanada Production

Ang Kahapon by Athea Ang

Pondering by JEMOR

Melt by Fcfx

A Requiem and A Hymn by xxx_Holiq Animations

Nasiruddin: Sultan Kudarat by Cari Baring

Noche Buena by Daniel Plains

Flashbacks by Norhayra

Game Development:

Grand Prize Winner: High Times by YYM Danni

Craggenrock by Ardeimon

Keyboard Warrior RPG by Alex E. Valdez

Batteries Not Included: Remastered by WASD Indie Game Dev

Balete City by Niley Bacolcol

Panimdim by Pastille

Card Doctor by kuro.kky

Komiks All Stars by Taktyl Studios Jr. Indie              

Team and Miko’s Adventure by Frame Drop Interactive

Tales of Ratu–The Beginning by Vertigod Games

Online Content Category:

• Rose Ann Factolerin Espina

• Nicole Keith Merilo and Rubenich Abuda Reyes

• Tine Acosta

• Rizza Joy Buganan Santiago

• Rosalie Seminguit Lebante

• Bianca Denise Hidalgo Macasaet

• Amullo L. Dela Cruz

• Jedd Gabriel D. Diaz

• Alyssa Johanna Francisco Remulla

• Mary Joy Likwan Candinato

• Kate Nicole

• Gulquing Sabuco