‘Eat Bulaga’ resumes live airing, introduces new hosts

Noontime variety show ‘Eat Bulaga’ resumed its live TV airing with a new set of hosts on Monday following the departure of Tito Sotto, Vic Sotto and Joey de Leon and other former mainstays.

Paolo Contis led the pack which includes comedian Betong Sumaya, Buboy  Villar, siblings Cassy and Mavy Legaspi and former ‘Tropang LOL’ host Alexa Miro.

Also introduced as co-hosts were Kokoy de Santos, XOXO’s Dani Ozaraga, Mel Caluag and Lyra Micolob.

During the show’s opening, the iconic Eat Bulaga theme song was not played.

Last week, the TVJ trio announced that they are leaving the show after more than four decades and severing ties with TAPE Inc., the production company behind the longest-running variety show in the country.

Other Eat Bulaga co-hosts tendered mass resignation days later.

The group said it is already discussing a transfer to another station with a possible new show targeted to begin next month.