10 women leaders receive Philippine Resilience Awards

Ten exceptional women leaders received recognition in the Philippine Resilience Awards ceremony on Thursday, 12 October.

The recognition was organized by the Climate Change Commission in collaboration with the Office of Senator Loren Legarda, the Philippine Commission on Women, the Carlos P. Romulo Foundation, the National Resilience Council, ARISE Philippines, WIN DRR Philippines, and SM Prime Holdings, Incorporated.

The women, hailing from diverse backgrounds, have demonstrated their commitment to building climate and disaster-resilient communities.

Among the awardees are Quezon City Maria Josefina Belmonte for championing resilient food systems and sustainable livelihood through the City’s Community-based Urban Farming Program; Climate Resilient Agriculture- Office of the Department of Agriculture Alicia Ilaga for her commitment to community-based resilience in vulnerable farming communities through the Adaptation and Mitigation Initiative in Agriculture Program; Department of Public Works and Highways Undersecretary Maria Catalina Cabral for championing critical infrastructure resilience in the implementation of DPWH infrastructure projects; Mariano Marcos State University President, Dr. Shirley Agrupis for her dedication to green technological innovations, including enhancing sustainable local bioethanol production using nipa sap; Base Bahay Foundation, Inc. President Maria Vicente Jalandoni for her efforts in promoting sustainable, resilient, and ecological housing through Cement-Bamboo Frame Technology.

Other awardees are Cagayan State University President Dr. Urduja Alvarado for her community-based resilience initiatives, focusing on ecological development and empowerment of mangrove communities in Gonzaga, Cagayan; Bukidnon State University President, Dr. Joy Mirasol, for championing bio-cultural diversity conservation and resilience through the strengthened and empowered management of Mindanao Protected Areas; Nida Collado, a farmer and President of the Macatumbalen Community Based Forest and Coastal Management Association, was also recognized for her leadership in community-based sustainable forest management and environmental conservation in San Vicente, Palawan.

Also awarded are St. Paul’s Hospital of Iloilo, Inc. administrator Sr. Arcelita Sarnillo, for realizing the link between human health and environmental conditions, championing green, sustainable, and climate-resilient healthcare through the Green and Healthy Hospital Program; and Joroan Farmers and Fisherfolks Association President, Mila Bogñabal, for her efforts in promoting resilient food systems and sustainable livelihood in Joroan Tiwi, Albay, through the implementation of climate-resilient agricultural practices.

Senate President Pro Tempore Loren Legarda urged the awardees to remain exceptional as environmental warriors.

She said their influence and dedication to their environmental advocacies would “drive positive change, foster collaboration, and build a resilient world for future generations.”

“It is your role to give Filipinos hope that together, we can work toward a safer planet, free from the devastating impacts of natural disasters and climate change,” Legardo told the women awardees.

Meanwhile, CCC Commissioner Rachel Anne Herrera stressed the need to continue recognizing women with outstanding impacts on the country’s resilient innovations.  “We celebrate their achievements and are inspired by their commitment,” she added.

The Philippine Resilience Awards was established by Legarda in 2013, and have been an inspiration for local leaders striving to build climate and disaster-resilient communities.

The CCC said today’s ceremony “highlighted the remarkable initiatives and projects undertaken by outstanding women leaders in the field of resilience.”